top of page

Auspelmyer is bright spot in rainy NY weekend

Limerock Speedway made the decision around noon on Saturday that the racing scheduled for Saturday July 11 was not going to happen. The race was scheduled to be the opening event for the 2020 Empire Slingshot series.

This would have been the first race for the Slingshots at Limerock Speedway. The series is scheduled to return to “the Rock” August 22nd.

The Empire Slingshot series is based out of New York. The series had gone away for a few years, but is set to return in 2020. Amidst Covid delays and rain, the series will look for its returning green flag this weekend at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

In the final tune up before the Empire Series opener on Sunday July 19, Nick Auspelmyer led the field to the flag stand for the Northeast Paving and Sealcoating All Star Slingshots and led wire to wire and wouldn’t be contested as he took his first career win at the ridge. The battle for second however, looked like a swarm of bees. In the end, Scott Sprague would finish second and Dan Ballard would round out the podium.

In the NPS Jr. Slingshots, it was “Kid Dynamite” Frank Twing Jr going wire to wire and back to back after holding off a late race charge from the 771 of Lucas Duncan.

July 12, 2020 Results

Northeast Paving and Sealcoating All-Star Slingshots: Nick Auspelmyer, Scott Sprague, Dan Ballard, Brett Putnam, Mike Hill, Spencer Cherko, Kyle Fallis, Tyler Vadney, Brock Pinkerous, Darryn Fallis, Jim Pollard, Rodney Renwich, Andrew Millard, Jim Gaige, Tucker Jones, Julia Renwick, Conner Hill, Bob Morey, Jim Mudge, Tyler Holcomb, Nick Millard.

Northeast Paving and Sealcoating Junior Slingshots: Frank Twing Jr, Lucas Duncan, Sloan Cherko, Liam Jackson, Brock Pinkerous, Corky Warner, Ryan McCoy, Cole Conrad, Hayden Ackernecht.

144 views0 comments


bottom of page